top of page

Refuge Commission:

First Movement "Exile"

Refuge Movement 1: "Exile" - Text Options

Refuge Movement 1: "Exile" - Text Options

Play Video

Help Compose Our Next Commission


We are excited to announce a special commission that we will premiere at a to-be-scheduled upcoming concert. This unique, “crowd-sourced” commission by local composer Jonathan Kolm is entitled Refuge, and you get to participate in the composition process!

The winning text for the first movement is "The New Colossus" by Emma Lazarus!

Voting for the text for the first movement, “Exile,” concluded on July 28. The three text options were “The New Colossus” by Emma Lazarus, “The Sound of Trees” by Robert Frost, and an excerpt from “Ulysses” by Alfred, Lord Tennyson. Watch the embedded video to hear three ACS board members recite each work.


Your votes selected "The New Colossus" by Emma Lazarus for this first movement. Now get ready to vote on our next selection of texts!


We are so looking forward to presenting this one-of-a-kind piece, and we hope you will cast your votes and join us on this journey! Continue on to Movement Two: "Journey".

Please consider supporting this commission and future programming by supporting ACS.

bottom of page