top of page

Refuge Commission:

Round Three voting

Refuge Movement 3: "Arrival" - Text Options

Refuge Movement 3: "Arrival" - Text Options

Play Video

Help Compose Our Next Commission


We are excited to announce a special commission that we will premiere at a to-be-scheduled upcoming concert. This unique, “crowd-sourced” commission by local composer Jonathan Kolm is entitled Refuge, and you get to participate in the composition process!

The winning text of Movement Two is "Night" by Louise Bogan!

Voting for Movement Three, "Arrival", concluded on October 7. Watch the above video to hear ACS members recite the text options.


Patrons voted, and the winning movement was three senryu poems by Hokkai, Rokaku, and Ichiryu.

Select a movement below to learn more about this commission process:

Movement One | Movement Two | Movement Four | Movement Five

We are so looking forward to presenting this one-of-a-kind piece, and we hope you will cast your votes and join us on this journey!

Please consider supporting this commission and future programming by supporting ACS.

bottom of page