top of page

Refuge Commission:

Round Two "Journey"

Refuge Movement 2: "Journey" - Text Options

Refuge Movement 2: "Journey" - Text Options

Play Video

Help Compose Our Next Commission


We are excited to announce a special commission that we will premiere at a to-be-scheduled upcoming concert. This unique, “crowd-sourced” commission by local composer Jonathan Kolm is entitled Refuge, and you get to participate in the composition process!

The winning text for the first movement is "The New Colossus" by Emma Lazarus!

The three text options for “Journey” were "BEDS: N 10° 45’ 55” / E 78° 42’ 35”" by Divya Victor, "Night" by Louise Bogan, and "Krishna, 3:29 AM" by Meena Alexander. Watch the above video to hear ACS members recite each poem.


You voted, and the winning text for "Journey" was "Night" by Louise Bogan. Continue to Movement Three: "Arrival".

We are so looking forward to presenting this one-of-a-kind piece, and we hope you will cast your votes and join us on this journey!

Please consider supporting this commission and future programming by supporting ACS.

bottom of page