ACS Concert 5-18 (5)_edited.jpg

October 2-3, 2021
Rachel M. Schlesinger
Concert Hall

With an “Ode to Joy”, ACS will open its 52nd season with Beethoven’s Symphony No. 9. Under the direction of Alexandria Symphony Orchestra (ASO) conductor James Ross, the “Choral Symphony” will be performed with a new English text by poet laureate and Pulitzer prize-winner Tracy K. Smith on Saturday, October 2 and Sunday, October 3. The program will open with Bruckner’s Benedictus from Mass No. 3 in F Minor. Featured soloists are courtesy of the Coalition for African Americans in the Performing Arts. 

Alexandria Symphony Orchestra, James Ross, conductor
Dara Rahming, soprano
Marquita Raley-Cooper, mezzo-soprano
Rodrick Dixon, tenor
Daniel Rich, baritone

To purchase tickets, please visit the links below. Be sure to add in ACS's discount code "ACS2021" to identify yourself as an ACS patron, and to receive a $5 discount!

SATURDAY, OCTOBER 2, 2021 | 7:30 PM

SUNDAY, OCTOBER 3, 2021 | 3:00PM


Note: This concert will be presented with no intermission. Masks are strongly recommended for non-vaccinated attendees by the CDC, our concert venues and ACS. For information based on current health guidelines, please visit our website prior to each concert.